11-11-2020 November Virtual Membership Meeting Minutes

      400 300 34th Democrats

      General Meeting Minutes

      November 11, 2020 – Virtual meeting held via closed ZOOM

      6:30 pm – Gina kicked off the Virtual Potluck that included comments and reactions about the election. Ballots will be cured through November 23rd in King County. We hit 86.33% voter participation county wide and 87.93% in the 34th. 

      7:00 – Gina Topp, chair, called the meeting to order.

      Opening Ceremonies 

      • Gina Topp gave the land acknowledgment
      • Ben Reilly, Chris Porter and Rob Saka gave presentations to honor Veterans
      • Gina reminded everyone that we use Robert’s Rules of Order for our meetings. We are also a safe, welcoming environment for all members and guests. 
      • Carla provided an overview of Zoom logistics: voting, muting and raising hands.

      VIP Acknowledgements

      • KC Executive Dow Constantine was recognized and spoke about his father who is a Veteran. Harborview Health for All was approved last week, we are privileged to have such a high caliber hospital in our community. Constantine spoke about the impact of the Presidential election. 
      • KC Conservation District Supervisor Chris Porter spoke about the native plant sale being held on their website. There will be an open seat available on the KC Conservation District board, with the election taking place in February. 
      • Gina spoke about the results in the various races where we endorsed candidates. 

      Adoption of October Minutes Rachel Glass made a motion to approve the minutes as presented, Ann Martin seconded. The motion passed unanimously. 

      Adoption of November Agenda – Dawn Rains moved that we pass the agenda for the meeting with Ann Martin seconding the motion. The motion passed unanimously. 

      7:34 – Gina called for Nominations for Annual Awards: Nominations are due by Nov 30, for the 34th Democrats Annual Awards, to be announced at our virtual holiday party on December 9th. Read more about the awards and make nominations on this form. Nominations are due by November 30th. 

      7:36 – Jordan Crawley, LAC Chair, introduced our annual Legislative Town Hall. Jordan shared the process for the Town Hall. Dawn Rains, membership chair and Rachel Glass, 1st Vice Chair moderated. 

      Senator Joe Nguyen gave opening statements about the upcoming session. Progressive Revenue is on the top of his list for the upcoming session. Representative Eileen Cody, Chair of the House Healthcare and Wellness Committee noted the response to COVID and the budget will be key. She is expecting less bills to be introduced (third of prior years) due to virtual sessions (COVID). Representative Joe Fitzgibbon talked about the election and expressed disappointment in that the majorities in the House and Senate did not grow this year, margins will be the same.

      Members asked questions of the Senator and Representatives and discussion of various topics was held. Jordan thanked the electeds for presenting the Town Hall. 

      8:38 – Maury Island Resolution – Jordan Crawley gave an overview of the resolution. Leah Griffin made a motion to approve and Bunny Hatcher seconded. The resolution passed unanimously. 

      8:41 – Campaign Contributions – Gina shared that the board had suggested that we approve a $500 contribution to help payoff campaign debt for Chris Reykdal’s campaign. Ann Martin moved that we give $500 to the Chris Reykdal campaign. Chris Porter seconded. Ann spoke for her motion. No arguments against. A voice vote resulted in an unanimous approval. Motion passed.

      8:43 – Elected Board Positions Overview

      Our bi-annual reorganization is in January. Elections will be held for Chair, 1st and 2nd Vice Chair, Secretary, Treasurer, State Committeeperson (one male, one female), King County Democrats Committeepersons (1 female, 1 female alternate, 1 male, 1 male alternate). The new Chair will appoint standing committee chairs and ad-hoc chairs in January.

      See the November newsletter for elected board position information. 

      See the website for committee descriptions. 

      9:09pm – Adjourn